Solr Search

VYO 2011 Winter Concert

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
e-mail icon

Composer-in-residence Robert Paterson returns to continue his second year of residency with the VYO. The Winter Concert program opens with his Suite for String Orchestra, written in 2002 for the Ithaca (NY) Talent Education School. Percussion enthusiasts will enjoy Carlos Chavez’s Toccata for Percussion, written in 1942 at the request of John Cage. Newport soloist Juliana Matthews is featured in Mozart’s Flute Concerto, No. 2. The second half of the program features Tchaikovsky’s tragic-to-triumphant Fifth Symphony.

Shows In This Series