Solr Search

Tony Hoagland

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
e-mail icon

Tony Hoagland is the author of three volumes of poetry: Sweet Ruin, winner of the Brittingham Prize in Poetry, Donkey Gospel, winner of the James Laughlin Award of The Academy of American Poets and What Narcissism Means to Me, as well as a collection of essays about poetry entitled Real Sofistakashun, all published by Graywolf Press. His poems and critical essays have appeared widely in journals and anthologies such as American Poetry Review, Harvard Review and Ploughshares.

Mr. Hoagland currently teaches in the poetry program at the University of Houston. He is the winner of the 2005 O.B. Hardison Jr. Prize. Awarded by the Folger Shakespeare Library, this is the only national prize to recognize a poet's teaching as well as his art. He also received the 2005 Mark Twain Award, given by the Poetry Foundation in recognition of a poet’s contribution to humor in American poetry. He is the recipient of this year’s prestigious Jackson Poetry Prize as well. Tony Hoagland will read from his work, take questions and then sign copies of his books in the Lake Lobby.

Shows In This Series