Solr Search

Mark Pendergrast: Inside the Outbreaks

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
e-mail icon

Mark Pendergrast is the author of five works of critically acclaimed non-fiction, including, most recently, Inside the Outbreaks: The Elite Medical Detectives of the Epidemic Intelligence Service (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010). His other books include Mirror Mirror (Basic, 2003); Uncommon Grounds (Basic, 1999, September 2010 second edition); Victims of Memory (Upper Access, 1995, 1996 second edition), and For God, Country & Coca-Cola (Scribner, 1993; Basic, 2000 second edition). Mark has also written a children's book, Jack and the Bean Soup, with illustrations by Robert Waldo Brunelle Jr, which he is self-publishing. He discusses the process of writing his newest book, Inside the Outbreaks, which is a history of the Epidemic Intelligence Service, the front-line disease detectives of the CDC. As Mark says, "This is probably the most effective government agency you've never heard of, and it may very well have saved your life, but you wouldn't know it." The book took over five years to research and write.

Shows In This Series