Solr Search

Champlain Valley School District School Board: December 6, 2016

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Pinterest icon
e-mail icon

On Tuesday, June 7, 2016, voters in all of the school districts of the Chittenden South Supervisory Union (CSSU) voted to approve forming a Unified District, which will be known as the Champlain Valley School District. Votes held by Australian ballot, and counted separately in Charlotte, Hinesburg, Shelburne, St. George, and Williston resulted in the bringing together of the governance of CSSU schools into one system. This new governance structure will become fully operational July 1, 2017.

During the year of transition, a newly formed board will begin working on the budget for the 2017-2018 fiscal year. A single budget for the operations of a coordinated PK-12 system will be presented to voters on Town Meeting Day in March of 2017. On July 1, 2017, the seven boards of CSSU will be replaced with one 12-member board overseeing the unified district, with one blended tax rate adjusted for Common Level of Appraisal in each town.

Shows In This Series